The Oratory of the Sacred Heart was built on the grounds of St. Mary’s Dominican Convent in 1918 and dedicated to the Sacred Heart in 1919. It commemorates the many local Irishmen who fought and died in the Great War. From 1920-36 it was hand-painted by Sr Concepta Lynch, a Dominican nun at St. Mary’s and the result is a stunning example of the Celtic Revival style.
A new exhibition based on the publication Divine Illumination will be on display on Level 3 at dlr LexIcon from 11 October 2019-4 January 2020.
Divine Illumination is the first full-length publication on this artistic treasure in Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, a unique three-dimensional tour de force created by Sr Concepta Lynch. The collection of essays includes contributions by Margaret Mac Curtain, Prof Deirdre Raftery and Dr Síghle Bhreathnach-Lynch and sheds new light on the life of this extraordinary woman alongside reproductions of her work that have never been seen before.
Supported by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Dept. of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Dominican Sisters, Cabra and the National Gallery of Ireland.